Our Most Common Denominator

"Where are you?"

“Where are you?”

My mom used to say that all the time.  “Where are you, Jeanne?”  I am frequently in La-La Land, I admit.  What can I say?  I love thinking.  And somewhere along the way, I fell in love with thinking about thinking.  The way our brains operate, you know, neuroscience (for the rest of us).

I am an occupational therapist and I work primarily with kids.  A good healthy knowledge of the brain and its inner workings has made me a better therapist, a better mom and a better person.  We all have those gooey, wrinkled things in our heads.  But we lose sight of this, that we all exist as wired entities.  I don’t mean hooked up to computers.  I mean the electricity of our minds.   We all have primitive neurological impulses that don’t always mesh with our often messy worlds.  Call it “intelligence,” call it “mental health,”  call it “willpower.”  It’s all our brains, people.  And we are are not, in fact,  people without them.  That’s pretty awesome.

I wish I could give my brain a hug.

7 thoughts on “Our Most Common Denominator

  1. “We all have primitive neurological impulses that don’t always mesh with our often messy worlds.” –You couldn’t have said it any better!

    That gap between what the brain conceives and what our worlds can accommodate is what makes our human-ness so amazing. It’s that secret place that reminds me of a quote from the movie, The Banquet, it goes “No one can truly understand another, if we could, no one would be loneliness.” Though it is not all limited to loneliness, but the entire plethora of human emotions. That place is where we commune with our Creator, laugh at ourselves, shout out our triumphs and grieve of our losses.

    Or if we’re lucky.. that place sometimes coincides with another’s.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Our Most Common Denominator | All Things Chronic

Leave a Reply

