Hearts

Heart

 

A flame that no longer burns.

Red.  Aching.  Sore.  Hurt.

It came so quickly.  So full and pumping.

Ran into me while I was walking.  Made me run to keep up.

And then.

It wasn’t the same.  My run slowed.

Waiting for it.  To keep up.  It didn’t.

My pace felt lame.  I gave up.

Mend.

 

 

Heart

 

You know the things they tell you.

“Don’t play his game.”

“He doesn’t deserve you.”

Coming off of you was slow. Pale.  Draining.

Ba-bump.

Ba-bump.

Colorless world.  Tame world. And not a crayon to be found.

I don’t blame you.  I wait.

For a palette.

Heal.

 

 

Heart

 

I wake up.  I look in the mirror.

You know, the one with the beautiful hand-carved frame?

For the first time in a while.

I see me.  Without you.  Without shame.

I feel a sputtering.  Inside.

Ba-bump ba-bump ba-bump! it goes.

Crimson.  Ready.

 

Now.

2 thoughts on “Hearts

Leave a Reply

